Goodbye 1UP Show – You Will Be Missed

7 01 2009

by Wayne Shayler

upAfter the announcement of Ziff Davis selling the 1UP network to competitors Hearst, I find myself languishing in a state of shock over the news that one of my favourite video podcasts will be no more, or at least not as I have known it over the years.

They have put an end to the print magazine Electronic Gaming Monthly, which began its life in 1989, and let approximately 30 of their staff go.  With the decrease in sales over time, and the rising popularity of the internet, magazines have found it hard to maintain readerships, but at least the website will continue.

I have loved an awful lot of the work that the guys at 1UP have generated over the past three or four years, all of the wonderful podcasts and especially the video podcast going by the name of ‘The 1UP Show’.

I love the writing, and the soul that the guys put into that show, especially Ryan O’Donnell, and my Saturday mornings will never be the same again without that theme tune ringing in my ears, and never has a truer word been spoken – “I don’t want to go to work today”.

It was while watching the 1UP show that I started listening to all the other podcasts put out by the site.  1UP Yours, Retronauts, 1UP FM and the old GFW Radio (now LAN Party) have given me countless laughs over the years.  This is an incredibly talented group of people and while some of them still remain, I do hope they can continue their great tradition in the podcast arena.

James Mielke, Shane Bettenhausen, Ryan Scott, Anthony Gallegos, Andrew Pfister, Matt Chandronait, Nick Suttner and Phillip Kollar have all given me so much pleasure with their passion for video games, that I feel an honourable mention must go to them.  I wish them all the very best of luck and I hope to ‘see’ or ‘hear’ them very soon. My iPod will miss them greatly, as will I.

Actions

Information

One response

7 01 2009
Daren Baldock

A sad day indeed. Join me in pouring a drink for those guys. Some great talent among those laid off, you can bet your ass they’ll find their feet real soon.

Leave a Reply

