Lips coming to Xbox 360 next month, tracklist revealed

22 10 2008

by Daren Baldock

Microsoft’s Q4 onslaught of the ‘casual’ gamer space continues with the release of the karaoke music title ‘Lips’, which hits retail shelves on 21st November 2008. While this is not necessarily ‘news’ as such (we’ve know this has been coming for a while now), extensive details have been released including the full tracklist. So what’s so special about this relatively ‘late to the party’ karaoke title that sets it apart from it’s well established Sony rival ‘Singstar’? Find out the lowdown and the full tracklist after the jump.

Title developers iNiS have a fun smash hit already under it’s belt. Nintendo DS owners have long enjoyed the music action game Elite Beat Agents, which is still one of my top 5 favourite DS games. While the game is quite challenging, it is still great fun to play.

With ‘Lips’ they have fine tuned the difficulty curve to the extent that moderate singers will do well, and great vocalists will do even better. Unlike some other titles in the genre it won’t just measure you against pitch,  but vowels too. Even performance accents will be actively rewarded.

As you would expect the core game revolves around singing along to songs, following the words on the screen. The wireless microphones are motion sensetive, which opens up further score boost opportunities for rhythmic action and even striking classic great poses (Elvis anyone?)!  In addition there are a further three game modes with unique twists to liven up the party further. For example, “Kiss” mode has two singers performing gestures together. When duets are performed well, the on-screen avatars will get closer and closer until they meet in the middle to share a kiss. “Vocal Fighters” is a one-on-one sing-off, where one player tries to get more fans than the other. “Time Bomb” has players working together to stave off a bomb.

That all fine and dandy but what about the songs, which can make or break a karaoke game? Well you’ll get a broad variety of songs from a range of genres and decades. Let’s have a gander…

Song List

  • a-ha “Take on Me”
  • Alicia Keys “No One”
  • Aly & AJ “Potential Break Up Song”
  • Avril Lavigne “Complicated”
  • Ben E. King “Stand by Me”
  • Beyoncé “Irreplaceable”
  • Blondie “Call Me”
  • Chris Brown “With You”
  • Coldplay “Yellow”
  • Depeche Mode “Personal Jesus”
  • Destiny’s Child “Survivor”
  • Dido “White Flag”
  • Duffy “Mercy”
  • Duran Duran “Hungry Like the Wolf”
  • John Denver “Take Me Home, Country Roads”
  • Johnny Cash “Ring of Fire”
  • Leona Lewis “Bleeding Love”
  • Lil’ Mama “Lip Gloss”
  • Lupe Fiasco (featuring Matthew Santos) “Superstar”
  • Maroon 5 “Makes Me Wonder”
  • Nirvana “In Bloom”
  • Peter Bjorn and John “Young Folks”
  • Queen “Another One Bites the Dust”
  • R.E.M. “The One I Love”
  • Radiohead “Fake Plastic Trees”
  • The Ramones “I Wanna Be Sedated”
  • Rascal Flatts “Stand”
  • Rihanna “Umbrella”
  • Roxette “Listen to Your Heart”
  • Sara Bareilles “Love Song”
  • Sheryl Crow “Soak Up the Sun”
  • Taylor Swift “I’m Only Me When I’m With You”
  • The Bangles “Walk Like an Egyptian”
  • The Fray “Over My Head (Cable Car)”
  • The Jackson 5 “ABC”
  • The Police “Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic”
  • The Raveonettes “Love in a Trashcan”
  • Trace Adkins “Ladies Love Country Boys”
  • Weezer “Island in the Sun”
  • Young MC “Bust a Move”

There something for everybody and it doesn’t stop there. Expect DLC to be on offer from the get-go and let’s not forget ‘Lips’ ace in the hole.

Players have the ability to import their own DRM free songs into the game, from a portable device such as an iPod or Zune, or even stream directly from the 360’s media library. iNiS claim to have implemented clever algorithms that analyze any track and detect the vocal element. This can then be tweaked and reduced with a variety of setting to obtain a backing track. Lyrics will unfortunately be unavailable but hey, we’ve got the internet and dozens of lyrics sites to take care of that side of things. While this element remains unproven, it’s the one aspect of ‘Lips’ that intrigues me most. If they get it even half right the potential of this game suddenly becomes limitless!

There’s online support with challenges and leaderboards, however there is no facility to record and upload video footage, which is one of the great features of ‘Singstar’. Avatars will sadly not feature in the game either, surely a missed opportunity from Microsoft there.

Gripes aside, this game is setting itself up to be a smash hit this coming Christmas and beyond. However the title shapes up on release and review, the music game genre is about to get a much welcomed addition.

Release Date: 21/11/2008  Price: £39.99 approx




One response

27 10 2008

*cough* Rip off!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: